Free Case Review

*Indicates Required Fields




Call us today for a

(720) 257-5346


Call us today for a

(720) 257-5346



Colorado Criminal Defense Blog

Blog Home

In Colorado, those who are convicted of certain crimes are required to register as sex offenders. Being labeled a sex offender comes with a lot of negative impacts. Not only is it something that goes on your criminal record for life, it’s something that you will pay for long after you have completed your sentence.

Many people are unaware of all the crimes that can place you on the sex offender registry and just how being labeled a sex offender can impact your life. The truth is, there are many hidden costs for those who are labeled sex offenders, and they can follow you around for a long time.

Here’s what you need to know about sex offenders in Colorado and the types of hidden costs that come along with the label.

Who Must Register as a Sex Offender in Colorado?

Certain sex crimes, whether they were attempted or actually perpetrated, will require a person to register on the sex offender registry in Colorado. These crimes include:

  • Sexual assault
  • Procurement of a child for sexual exploitation
  • Unlawful sexual contact
  • Sexual exploitation of a child
  • Sexual assault on a child
  • Aggravated incest
  • Sexual assault on a child by someone in a position of trust
  • Enticement of a child
  • Asexual assault on a client by a therapist
  • Incest
  • Indecent exposure
  • Promotion of obscenity to a minor
  • Soliciting for child prostitution
  • Patronizing a child who has been prostituted
  • Pandering of a child
  • Prohibited sexual conduct
  • Pimping a child
  • Internet luring of a child
  • Keeping a place of child prostitution
  • Public indecency
  • Internet sexual exploitation of a child
  • Second-degree kidnapping
  • Invasion of privacy for sexual gratification

Not only must those who commit these crimes in Colorado register as sex offenders, they must also register if they were convicted of similar crimes in another state. Also, note that not all of these crimes are felonies. Some misdemeanors, such as indecent exposure, can also require you to register as a sex offender.

The sex offender registry isn’t something many have to be on for life, but rather only for a set number of years. How many depends on the crime for which you were convicted.

What Happens When You Register in CO?

If you are ordered to register as a sex offender, then your name, physical description, age, criminal history, and other identifying information will be kept by local law enforcement. If you change any information, such as your address, then you must notify law enforcement. Failure to register is itself a crime that can be prosecuted and result in additional penalties.

Sex offender registries can also be viewed by the public, which carries along with it another layer of social penalties within your own community.

Registration Costs Money

On top of the criminal penalties that are enforced when someone is convicted of a sex crime, there are also fees associated with it that have to be paid by the offender or they may face further punishment.

Denver Sex Crimes Attorney

Sex offenders in Colorado are required to undergo a psychosexual evaluation after they have been convicted. This is a mandatory evaluation that they must pay for and it can run up to $2,000.

After the evaluation, treatment must be participated in as well. That can cost about $300 per month on average and may have to continue for a very long period of time. You may also have to pay for supervision, any other evaluations that must be completed, and even polygraph tests.


About the Author:

Kimberly Diego is a criminal defense attorney in Denver practicing at The Law Office of Kimberly Diego. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Georgetown University and her law degree at the University of Colorado. She was named one of Super Lawyers’ “Rising Stars of 2012 & 2019” and a “Top 100 Trial Lawyers in Colorado” for 2012-2020 by The National Trial Lawyers. Both honors are limited to a small percentage of practicing attorneys in each state.  Additionally, Expertise names her to its lists of the 25 Best Denver DUI Lawyers and 21 Best Denver Criminal Defense Lawyers, both in 2020. Ms. Diego has also been recognized for her work in domestic violence cases.



Blog Home